Board Honors Employees of the Year

Board Honors Teachers, Classified Employees of the Year
Posted on 05/10/2019
This is the image for the news article titled Board Honors Teachers, Classified Employees of the Year

The Board of Education recently recognized and celebrated classified and certificated employees of the year. Classified employees, who range from custodians to front office staff, help support and serve our students, and staff members in meeting our commitment to provide quality educational programs and services for students. Our certificated staff, our teachers, are professionals who are characterized by skill, knowledge, dedication, and creativity in the delivery of instruction. Join us in congratulating our certificated and classified employees of the year.

District Classified Employee of the Year

  • Maria Arroyo, Instructional Assistant-Behavioral Specialist at Daly Academy.

Ms. Arroyo was enrolled and selected as the San Diego County Classified Employee of the Year, and recently was recognized as a State Classified School Employee of the Year.

Two additional District Classified Employee of the Year honorees were recognized by the Board:

  • Shawn Duncan, Instructional Assistant, Behavioral Specialist at Casillas Elementary.
  • Ania Gobbi, School Secretary at Chula Vista Hills Elementary.

District Teachers of the Year

A committee comprising Chula Vista Educators representatives, the 2017-18 District Teachers of the Year, the Parent Engagement Liaison, a Principal, and two Cabinet members selected three candidates (listed below) as District Teachers of the Year and to apply for San Diego County Teacher of the Year.

  • Jennifer Mathis, Grade 3, Allen Elementary
  • Margaret Rabine, Grade 6, Clear View Elementary
  • George Ratcliff, Grade 6, Casillas Elementary

School-Site Employees of the Year


  • Gina-Marie McConkey, Library Technology/Technician, Allen
  • Maria Martinez-Ponce, School Secretary, Camarena
  • Maria Arroyo, IA Behavioral Specialist, Daly Academy
  • Nancy Abad, RSP Aide, Eastlake
  • Yvette Richardson, Instructional Assistant, Feaster Charter
  • Olivia Amador, Instructional Assistant, Halecrest
  • Lorna Mena, EL Instructional Assistant, Hedenkamp
  • Yvonne Carlon, Instructional Assistant, Kellogg
  • Velia Gutierrez, School Attendance Secretary/Health Specialist, Liberty
  • Thomas Hererra, Custodian (AM), Otay
  • Diana De La Torre, School Secretary, Parkview
  • Rosa Macias Gonzalez, School Secretary, Rice
  • Jayne Santos, School Attendance Secretary/Health Specialist, Rogers
  • Vivian Lutes, School Attendance Secretary/Health Specialist, Rosebank
  • Jesus Camarce, Custodian (PM), Salt Creek
  • Nicola Coghill, School Secretary, Tiffany
  • Jorge De Leon, Bus Driver/Delegated Trainer, Transportation
  • Norma Perez, Noon Duty Supervisor, Vista Square
  • Anna Sanchez, School Attendance Secretary/Health Specialist, Wolf Canyon

Teachers of the Year 

  • Melissa Delara, Eastlake
  • Jenna Bates, Feaster
  • Jill Ruperto, Liberty
  • Zerena Velazquez, Otay
  • Michael Ramirez, Parkview
  • Rachel Lipowsky, Rosebank
  • Josefina Oropeza, Silver Wing
  • Jena Ritchey, Sunnyside
  • Steve Adair, Tiffany
  • Michael Thomas, Wolf Canyon
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.